My hateful love affair with Trader Joe’s…and its patrons

ian-yogurt.jpgUnfortunately, there are certain things you can only buy at Trader Joe’s. Decent wine that you don’t have to dip into your kid’s college fund for. Coffee that doesn’t cost $25 a pound and still tastes pretty good. Those little yogurts that my son eats for breakfast. The only yogurt he doesn’t turn his nose up at. He needs three spoons to eat it. Don’t ask.

Don’t get me wrong. I like Trader Joe’s. I just don’t like the people that shop there. Everyone in the entire city of Los Angeles is shopping there at the same fucking time I am. Whatever time of the day that might be. And these people are idiots. 

Let’s start with the parking lot. Must you take up three spaces with your over-sized Suburban? I mean, there are only twenty parking spaces for 5,000 people to begin with.

trader-joes.gifAnd it gets worse inside the store. With aisles barely wide enough to fit Nicole Richie standing sideways, I can never get through with my cart. Some moron is always standing in the middle of the aisle like a fucking defensive lineman. I mean really. Get that package of organic-gluten free-no trans fat added-vegan-antioxidant nut and berry mix and get the hell out of my way. Better yet, here’s a link to the their product and label list:

http://www.traderjoes.com/labels_and_lists.html 

Give that a little look-see before you head out for those free Trader Joe’s samples. Maybe then you won’t be hogging the aisle trying to find what ingredients are in flax seeds. I’ll save you the trouble. It’s flax seeds.

And what’s with the traffic jam around the free sample area? Do you really need the free sample? Must you linger for minutes at a time savoring every crumb, only to not buy the product afterwards?

handsholdsbag1.jpgAnd can’t you bag your own groceries? Just because the cashier’s wearing a silly Hawaiian shirt and is making $9 an hour, doesn’t mean he should have to fill your environmentally conscious grocery bags because you’re on your cell phone and can’t do two things at once.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. Check out this person from Seattle:

http://www.craigslist.org/about/best/sea/130239058.html

xo

Leave a comment

Filed under family, food, funny, humor, kids, life, los angeles, parenting, random, rant, sahm, shopping, trader joe's, Uncategorized

Leave a comment